## Memorandum of Understanding Recognizing Reciprocity of Cross Graduate FACULTY Among Public Universities in Eastern Ohio

WHEREAS in the spirit on ongoing collaborative efforts reflecting common goals to enhance the development and flexibility of graduate programming and our shared resolve to support graduate student access and success in Eastern Ohio and

WHEREAS the faculty governance bodies of each of our institutions have recommended that graduate faculty membership on each campus be recognized at each university and

WHEREAS we recognize the benefit to the graduate programs on each of our campuses of sharing the faculty resources of all six Eastern Ohio public universities;

WHEREAS Cleveland State University, Kent State University, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Ohio University, The University of Akron, and Youngstown State University hereby each agree to recognize as graduate faculty members those faculty who have been duly appointed to the graduate faculties of their respective home institutions.

## **REPRESENTATIONS:**

- 1. Accordingly, these faculty may, with appropriate approvals, teach graduate courses.
- Graduate faculty so recognized may serve on thesis and dissertation committees, and co-director
  master's theses and doctoral dissertations with the express approval of the student's
  department/school program and graduate dean, consistent with the policies of the student's home
  institution.
- Faculty appointed to these duties at institutions other than their own will focus their activities and vote exclusively on matters concerning the thesis and dissertation committees to which they have been appointed.
- 4. Individual graduate units will develop standards and procedures for the utilization of graduate faculty from other institutions.
- Each university participating in this program of graduate faculty reciprocity agrees to assist in the implementation and enforcement of policies and procedures regarding faculty roles and responsibilities of the host campus.

This Agreement may be executed in any number of identical counterparts, notwithstanding that the Parties have not signed the same counterpart, with the same effect as if the Parties had signed the same document.

All counterparts will be construed as and constitute one and the same agreement.

Subscribed to and approved the 28th day of July, 2011:

Ronald M. Berkman, President Cleveland State University

Jay A. Gershen, President Northeast Ohio Medical University

Luis Proenza, President The University of Akron Lester Lefton, President Kent State University

Roderick J. McDavis, President Ohio University

Cynthia Anderson, President Youngstown State University